Search
Filters
Close
Friday, November 17, 2017 7:10:33 PM

Thickening engine bay panels

3 months ago
#2606 Quote
Hi everybody.  This is my first time posting.

I'm restoring a '51 Ford convertible and am ready to replace the engine/transmission, front fenders and the paneling that creates the engine bay.  I was hoping I could get some advice on how to thicken some of the rust-pocked panels that go in the interior.

I've had the recommendation to use panel bonding adhesive to thicken up the panels, but I haven't been able to find specific info on how to use the stuff for my particular application.  I'm not above taking them to a body shop, but thought I might ask on here first.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Jon

UPDATE:  Inserting the picture doesn't work but maybe you can get to it by clicking here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bw5_e_uwfhewMmlhR3BsdUtaR2s.
3 months ago
#2607 Quote
From what I see you will have to skim the panel with body filler, that's the only way to fill all the pits. If you have a photo bucket account copy and paste the IMG here, that works for me.
Greg
3 months ago
#2608 Quote
Hey Jon,

Congratulations on joining this Forum, and congratulations on having a very collectible 1951 Ford convertible!